Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Mincemeat

Back home, it’s time to get ready for Christmas. First task - make my mincemeat. I should have done this before going down to London, but I just didn’t have the energy. And I know I could just buy a jar - but it just wouldn’t be the same. 

Mince pies are my ‘thing’ at Christmas. When we were both working, I’d make hundreds for various gatherings, but now numbers are more manageable - just enough for us and friends. 

The pastry’s gorgeous - rich and crumbly - but making that will wait a few days yet. It’s this pastry that Simon was making last weekend when he ended up in A&E with a broken knuckle. It needs chilling, and Simon tried to roll it out before it softened, hand slipping against the kitchen wall. Extreme baking indeed! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.