It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

What an Exciting Day

It was 6:30am and the dog decided she had slept enough so decided to bark to wake me up. Argg.....I was hoping for at least 7am on a Sunday. Rosemary was meant to be doing an Ultra and she had booked a nice cottage. But we hadn't planned having a dog at the time, so she headed away with friend Glen instead! The Ultra was cancelled but they still went. It's quite hard looking after a puppy on your own.

After our walk and breakfast, we headed out to North Berwick on the train. Getting to the beach, the waves were massive and the tide was high. We watched the RNLI doing some drills, and then headed off east towards Tantallon. 

There was a seal pup trapped in the sea pool, maybe a lucky escape from the waves. Lots have died in the last few weeks. I hope this one is lucky. I didn't hang about especially as the dog seemed interested. 

It's great having a dog. I can speak shit without being judged, sing songs to her without fear of being judged and we can act like lunatics together. It was fun chasing the foam that had been whipped up by the waves even though I was wearing my big camera bag.

Uisge loved the beach, her first visit to a proper one. Of course Wardie is proper too but it can be walked in a few minutes. She loved running in the long grass, jumping like a mountain hare. 

The beach towards Drift (lunch stop) was quite small and I'm guessing it was one of the highest tides of the year, with the sea being very rough. Uis was attached to my waist belt on my rucksack, just so I could take pictures. I did notice she was going a wee bit frantic but I was too busy looking through my view finder to notice a very big wave coming. The next thing I knew, I was up to my knees in sea water with a puppy leaping on to me so she wasn't swamped. 

Fortunately, we and my camera gear survived, but Uisge went absolutely nuts trying to get dry in the dune grass. It was very funny, even though I was also soaked, 

Lunch at Drift was really good, including the best cauliflower soup ever, She had Dofos venison sausages and then fell asleep whilst I ate cake. It had started to get dark so we went the quicker way over the golf course back to the train station. The dog needed to be woken up at Waverley. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.