Sunny Sunday with snowy tops

We were blessed today to have wall to wall sunshine and I went for an early swim in the pool and then went down to the lake for a fly fishing lesson, my first ever with Morris, the ghillie. Learnt on grass without a fly and I would say not a natural!

However we continued to the trout pond and Morris sent out the line with fly attached and instantly had a fish on the line which he made me reel in! I then had to practice fishing. Sometimes it was okay and sometimes disastrous. It is definitely not automatic for me yet! Morris had said just three more casts I got a bite and had to reel another one in. The first one I kept and the second we put back.

Having got it home I had to gut it without a sharp knife and demonstrated the ineptitude of a newcomer to fishing. Nearly lost the fish on the floor at one stage but managed with the aid of scissors to get the job done. Cooked it wrapped in foil with butter and lemon and ate it with lettuce and rocket! Only ate half so will have the other half for lunch tomorrow! Morris suggested I have another go tomorrow afternoonto consolidate the learning but depends on the weather! Fair weather fishin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.