Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

The Orchid

This is the Orchid that keeps on giving and little Rusty is its minder!!  Our friend Margaret gave us the plant when we returned home from our trip to Western Australia and the Northern Territory and it has had a flower on it ever since.  The current crop look like they’ll be followed by a few more as there are lots of new buds forming.  It was hard to think of another name for Rusty, it seemed highly appropriate when we bought the little character.  Apparently rust is on trend at the moment!!

It’s been a day to take it easy today.  The weather has been misty and rainy all day and so the fire was lit and the books came out.  After being inspired by Burradoo and her love of literature PhosphorescenceI have decided to make a concerted effort to read Julia Baird’s epic on the life of Queen Victoria.  I am a very slow reader (to say the least) and when I realised the book was over 600 pages I nearly passed out.   So here we go.  So far I’ve made my way through the
Cast of Characters
MAPS
Family Tree
Introduction and
Part 1 - Chapter 1 The Birth of “Pocket Hercules”

I really enjoy watching Julia Baird when she facilitates “The Drum” at 6.00pm weeknights on the ABC and I loved her book Phosphorescence.  She is such a talented individual.

Thanks again Burradoo for your encouragement, I’ll keep you posted :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.