Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

The 'Beach Bum' sandals

I've always said it would be a sad day when these have to go to the great Cobblers in the sky but I think even I have to admit that that day has come. I couldn't say quite how old they are, but they've been with me for at least 25 years and I suspect rather longer than that.  They've been to Africa and Orkney, California and Greece.  They've trudged the Kalahari and Namib deserts, and wandered around the Atlas Mountains in Morocco.  They've swum in the Atlantic, the Pacific, and the Mediterranean, and they've paddled in the North Sea.  They've always been much more comfortable than any I've tried since, and they've stayed in one piece despite all the abuse I've hurled at them.  But they have finally succumbed to age and the garage; clearing some things out to make space for a delivery tomorrow I found them, slowly being taken over by something rather unpleasant.  So I think the time has finally come to say Goodbye.

Or I could try to polish them?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.