Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Break in the Clouds

I found myself on the edge of Cannock Chase, overlooking surrounding land, just as the sun made the briefest of appearances as it started to set.  It looked as though its light would be short lived, so I had to make the choice between capturing the wider landscape or the way the light was illuminating the trunks of a group of trees I was standing amongst.

I'm always a sucker for contre jour images, so it won out and before I knew it the light had gone again.

Technical: I used a 3 stop reverse graduated filter and even then needed to bracket exposures to capture the detail in the seen.  I used Lightroom's photo merge facility to combine the bracketed images which gave this result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.