helenann

By helenann

Christmas Cactus

A busy day with my Mother. I took her food shopping while my husband tidied up her garden and filled up the garden waste bin. 
This afternoon I helped  her writing  her Christmas cards, which is a slow process...
This evening, was her book club meeting and, very kindly, the group allowed my husband and me to attend with her. It was an  American themed evening; first we all had brought contributions for supper, and then we discussed "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn", which we had all been reading over the past month. Most of us had enjoyed reading the  book,  for its fast moving stories and wonderful depiction of 19th century life on the  Mississippi, and in spite of its shockingly casual racism. Finally, we played charades, the  subjects of which were titles of the books the group have read over the  six years of their existence.  As you  may imagine, it was a very jolly and sociable  event. In January, the group are meeting at my Mother's  house, so I think I will need to be on hand to help prepare  and serve refreshments for the six guests.
The book we are reading next is Jerome K Jerome's (sequel to Three Men in a Boat)  Three Men on the  Bummel. (They seem to be reading  classics at present, although often they  read very modern fiction)
There was a beautiful Christmas  cactus  flowering in our hosts' sitting room, which just had to be photographed to appear as  my blip today.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.