Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Blacksmith Building walls complete

Today I finished up building the four walls of the blacksmith building.  I  finished the corners last and the boards there will get weathered to match the adjacent walls.  I did some research and there was a real blacksmith in the area (circa 1950), so the building will be for J. M. Rush Jr. - Blacksmith.

Next task is to build the roof trusses.  And glue the building on the 1" Styrofoam base. A ton of very small details go inside and it is way easier to do that on my work table.  Then when all is done with the building the base will fit snuggly into the rectangle hole I made on the layout.

I also decided to install some lights inside the building.  The roof will be removable to see the details.  As well, there will be a couple of flashing red tiny LEDs in the hearth.

The kit was easier than I imagined when I saw the pile of sticks.  But patience and the full size drawings of the walls were a big help and  made cutting the parts more accurately.  And my "Chopper" saved a lot of work as it can cut the 45 degree top of the individual siding boards (2 by 8 in scale)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.