Sketchbook

Last night was the same as night before, with my insensitive Christmas lights neighbour leaving his Christmas lights on. And it was gone 11pm. I was unable to sleep any more on the couch in the front room. My plan had been to sleep in the front room until 10 pm when his Christmas lights should have gone off, and then I was going to retire to my comfy bed the rest of the night. But his Christmas lights were still flashing their multicoloured migraine inducing pervading brightness at well gone 11pm.

I went round, knocked on his door, window and rang his bell.

He did not answer, nor even look out from behind his blinds.

I came back in.

I was not having a whole night of this. Those Christmas lights were going to be turned off by him.

So I tried putting my dog barking driveway sensor alarms on for just 5 seconds to try and make him wake up and realise his Christmas lights were still on, and I was holding them out of my bedroom window.

Nothing happened. His bedroom window is only a few metres away from mine.

I want to sleep in my own bed, not on an uncomfortable couch all night.

I was sleeping on the couch because I go to bed early, but a whole night on the couch in the front room to get far away as possible from those pervasive lights (and having to do this for another month), I was not going to do.

So, I set a full burst of those two dog alarms, and they are set to sound like two different Alsatian dogs. I held them right out of my bedroom window for 45 seconds, the length of this alarm alert. 

But I forgot something. These are my sensor alert alarms for the front driveway (as I am deaf and these work for me), so I am aware when parcels arrive (I only switch them on when I am expecting a parcel delivery), and they also flash a blue light as well as the barking Alsatians, so this meant the blue flashing lights would have permeated his bedroom window curtains for 45 seconds as well...

Those Christmas flashing lights of his, still on at 23:20 were suddenly turned off. And his house inside was still in total darkness.

I was expecting his security light to come on and him to come out and investigate the source of the 'dogs' barking and the blue lights. But he didn't. And I was prepared to say something had he done that.

It was about 10 minutes later when some lights came on inside, but just in his bathroom.

Then it dawned on me. He must have thought the blue flashing lights was a police car, and the barking Alsatians were police dogs?

I really really hope he was hiding behind his couch too scared to turn his lights on inside in case it was the police.

Then I went to sleep...

Creative is a quick tiny sketch this morning, with a black rollerball pen that did not spread much when water was applied...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.