Draw Me Like One of Your French Girls

It was a busy weekend, and we were away for much of it. On Saturday, it was gorgeous, and we spent the entire day outdoors. On Sunday, we visited family and attended a lovely Easter service in the Johnstown area.

This meant that Dexter, our tabby, spent most of the weekend alone. He is a very people-oriented cat who loves to spend time with my husband and me. Whenever one of us is in the house, he is never far away. So being alone for much of two days was a real hardship for Dexter.

When we arrived home Sunday evening and plopped, exhausted, into our chairs in the living room, Dexter took over the chair directly in front of me, where he could see me and he was sure I could see him (like I said, he LOVES attention, and that includes being gazed at and adored); and he began taking a luxurious bath.

I grabbed my camera and snapped a few photos. For most of the bath, he was deeply engrossed. Lick-Lick-Lick, Nib-Nib-Nib, Lick-Lick-Lick. (The "nib spots" are where he throws in a bite or two for good measure, for instance, between the toes.) But at one point, he stretched out - what a L-O-N-G cat - looked directly at me, and assumed an alluring pose. I admit it made me laugh.

It reminded me of that scene in the movie Titanic where Rose says to Jack, "Jack, I want you to draw me like one of your French girls." And then Rose poses on the couch for him, wearing only the famous blue, heart-shaped diamond known as the Heart of the Ocean.

In honor of the film that the title of this blip is referencing, the song to accompany this image is the Titanic theme song, My Heart Will Go On, sung by Celine Dion. The linked video features clips from the film. Enjoy!

P.S. I'm a bit behind on my blips, so I'm posting this image on April 2, which happens to be Dexter's fifth birthday! Happy birthday, big boy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.