My Stones of Life

By robthompson

Hospital, GP and pharmacy

A visit to North Tyneside General hospital today. Followed by a call with the GP and a trip to the pharmacy. Ongoing medication and treatment for a long-term chronic pain condition; which triggers awful insomnia too.

Chronic pain and chronic stress change how your brain and nervous system work. Your nervous system is in a constant state of overdrive. This is an ongoing cycle where pain causes stress and stress causes pain, and so it continues.

Over time I've found that if I concentrate on medication alone my focus is on one of the least changeable aspects of this long-term condition.

On the other hand, if I shift my focus towards areas of my life more amenable to change, I can begin to see how self management can lead to real improvements in my quality of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.