Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Barra-bound!

It sounds, does it not, as if I were on a romantic journey to the Hebrides rather than stuck indoors as Storm Barra sent great washes of sleet down the bay windows at the front of our house - yea, even the window out of which I hang to take photos in more clement weather. (I did, briefly, consider opening one to take a photo of the waves bashing over the road on the East Bay, but thought better of it.) Does that earlier sentence require a question mark, I wonder - or would it be too far removed from the original question? Ah, the finer points ...

Actually we got of fairly lightly. It was simply the fact that the worst couple of hours came at the time when I might have contemplated going out. So I did my Italian (onto what I think of as the Pluperfect tense, though I think there are differences) and added a few bits to my sermon for Sunday. I read The Scotsman and finished a Sudoku. And before I knew where I was it was already growing dark again, having had only a few lighter moments, and I was hungry.

By the time we'd eaten I was able to shut the heavy silk curtains in the (East-facing) sitting room and make it cosy enough to relax in - until the news came on, with that absurd scoundrel pretending to be a police officer (isn't that a criminal offence?) and stirred me up again. But then we went to choir, all appearing windswept and blinking out of the dark, and the singing was so good and the music (Christmas music) so lovely that the day was redeemed.

Blipping one of only two photos I took today - I thought that the veg for the pasta looked far more jolly than sleet slithering down a window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.