La vida de Annie

By Annie

Puesta de sol.

It was actually sunny today, and I should have gone out but didn't, chosing instead to stay in and mope about things I can do nothing about. I'd just about persuaded myself to have a walk when it got dark, so sat and moped some more. TV and media are to blame: I've taken to shouting curses at the news, especially featuring the so-called prime minister with his lies and dress-up photo ops. Police uniform? Isn't it a crime to impersonate a police officer? Or in his case, human being. Party at number 10 last Christmas? I haven't seen my family and friends for 2 years. Yes, I know I'm privileged to live in a lovely place despite the storms and power cuts, compared with the even more freakish weather in other parts of the world, including the UK. I am healthy and as far as I am aware, so are my absent loved ones. Other people have lost family members while forbidden to see them, while politicians partied illegally. People are suffering through rising prices of food and fuel coupled with benefit cuts. The scenes of festive markets and twinkly lights and enforced jollity do not cheer me: they disgust me. I know people are desperate to put a brave face on it and try to enjoy themselves, but do a crowd of illuminated plastic raindeer and santas filling their front gardens really achieve that? I hate Christmas, or had you guessed that?
At the depth of my wallow in misery, I spotted the sunset through the back window. Maybe someone's trying to tell me something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.