Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A couple of useful phone calls…

I had dozed off again this morning after JR had left for the gym, and was awakened by a phone call. It was my cardiologist - I wanted to have another chat with him. Actually, just as well he did ring, as it was 10am, and we were due at our neighbour’s place at 11am… a wee bit of a rush to get organised, and JR was just back from the gym in time.

We popped along to visit Mary. Archie looks in her gate every time we pass it. And he gets very excited and barks when just her voice is heard answering the doorbell. Once inside, he settles down to wait patiently. However, after an hour or so he gets a bit agitated, and starts being silly - grabbing the lead pulling and growling etc. And nipping at ankles. JR took him to the Links after the visit..

A Virgin Media executive person rang me about my recent email debacle and complaints. In my rage I’d found the CEO’s name and email. Amazingly, it went somewhere, though I doubt he read it.

I told her about how the ‘help desk’ staff don’t really have enough technical know-how to sort things (as Craig - who fixed it - told me, and anyway, I’d begun to realise…) and so she’s going to look into more training. Also, if VM blocks someone’s email - they really should ring to inform them, thereby avoiding the person changing the password multiple times, making it definitely look like ‘fraudulent activity’. She agreed that was a reasonable idea. And why should an ‘IT Job Ticket’ (where they ‘escalate’ the problem) take 5 days to rectify? I told her about the ‘line being cut off’ trick. No - I didn’t say it was a trick. But I may have inferred that I thought it was, due to the frequency of it happening. I also told her that many of the people on the Help Desk were very hard to understand. Not sure if that’s quite PC… 

Home again to watch PMQs (Prime Minister’s Questions). What a rabble. There’s a BIG stooshie over news that on the 18th December last year, in the midst of a Lockdown, when people were not even allowed to visit a dying family member, Number 10 had a Christmas party!! I find it amazing that we’re only just hearing about it, a year later. 

Storm Barra did not amount to much in our part of the country. A bit of sleet in the afternoon, then it stopped. All was calm and still today, but I fear there are more folk without electricity elsewhere in the country again.

I went down to see the Christmas playground again. 

Actually, I didn’t, but I could have done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.