Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Today I travelled to London, met my lovely, kind mum and saw the gorgeous Dürer exhibition at the National Gallery.

2022: Will be the year we are finally divorced. He will get his 30 pieces of silver from me as well as his ladle-full of “Please Sir, Can I Have Some More” from my pension pot and I will need to keep working quite a few more years to get back onto an even keel, but at least I haven't been forced to sell my London flat, so that will be a great help.
I wonder what it must feel like to have had your mother pack you off to boarding school at the age of 7 and to never live under her roof again, to have had your first wife move her next boyfriend into your house with your children while you were working away from home and paying off the mortgage, to have been denied any further contact with your grandchildren and to have had your second wife run away from paradise to escape you.
I know you identify with this song and would like it played at your funeral. I do so hope that some kind soul obliges you.
I loved you. I loved you with all my heart. I just wanted to help you overcome all the damage done to you(*), but you needed to want that too, and sadly, you thought you were just fine as you are. It took you 27 years to convince me our relationship was hopeless and another four to divorce me.

*I do know that his mother would habitually trap his head and arms inside his upper-body clothing by simply pulling it up from the waist and over his head as far as his armpits, and then leave him there punching himself in the head as he tried to free himself. And I also know that when he was packed off to boarding school at the age of 7 his father put a note to the headmaster inside the suitcase giving him carte blanche to beat his son whenever he saw fit. To reach his boarding school from his home he had to fly as an unaccompanied minor from Malaysia to England and the thought of that still makes me cry.
He didn't know love, and when it was finally shown to him he didn't know how to receive it nor how to give it.
Poor bastard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.