Sandcrab Blips

By Sandcrab

Wallace Monument Again

If you live in Stirling, you're allowed free admission to the Wallace Monument once a year. There are three large exhibition halls with a single spiral staircase up to the top for the best view. The protocol is that you don't leave a hall to go up or down if you can hear anyone on the steps; however if two parties do meet on the steps, the party going up retreats. I got as far as the first hall and took this photo through a slit window of Stirling Castle. There was no-one on the steps so I set off up again (noisily) when I heard footsteps above start to descend. I said: "Hello,....",  no reply but more steps, " Hello,  are you coming down?" Someone replied: "Yes." I retreated down and gave way to a hip, young couple. My nerve had gone. That's as high as I'll be going this year.

The extra shows some of the stained glass windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.