Number Eight Wire

In 1976 New Zealand adopted the metric system and Number 8 Wire became 4.0mm gauge wire.  We still call it No 8 Wire and it is a phrase that has grown to represent Kiwi ingenuity and resourcefulness.  The forester has created the sphere  I wanted made from the wine barrel hoops I found in the garden.  He managed to find the bolt and nuts and wire in the garage.  I'm very pleased with it.  It is only attached at the top so the hoops can move a little in the wind.  It will be good for my OCD to just walk past and let it be.  Of course if they get too off centre I won't be able to help myself and will have to straighten them up.
On negative side the forester took to the blue salvia growing at the end of the roses.  It sends out runners into his asparagus plot so he classed it as a weed.  I liked it growing wild and swaying  in the breeze.  He pulled all of it out and that end of the garden is now very bare.  Down to the garden centre today and three replacement plants purchased.  Two Penstemons and dark, dark blue salvia.  The bees were all over the penstemons so I now I have better  plants than I had before but don't tell him that. 
The extra collage shows the sphere in place.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.