randomgirl

By randomgirl

Bunchrew House Hotel

Me and my husband stayed a night at this hotel (just a few miles down the road from where we live!) as a way to celebrate my 50th Birthday.  EDIT: it's not my Birthday today.... I'm blipping this over a week later because it's been a busy week!

It's an old building with a lot of history, nice grounds, really good food and service, plus a lovely, peaceful view of the Beauly Firth - as it sits right on the shoreline. 

We had an 'afternoon tea' when we arrived, which was delicious but way too much for two people, so we took the rest of it home to share with the girls the next day! (See extra for a view of the cakes, including a choux pastry Loch Ness monster ;-))

My favourite things about staying there were getting to sit in the beautiful drawing room with a cosy fire, and having a view of the Firth - not just from our room, but also while I sat eating breakfast the next day. It was lovely watching the different birds that were swimming and diving just near to the shore. I wasn't able to get a decent photo of them though.

The main photo shows the 'Marriage Lintel' that sits above the mantelpiece in the drawing room. It's from 1621, when the house was built - for the 8th Lord Lovat Simon Fraser and his wife Jean Stewart. As well as the date it shows their initials and crests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.