Bluheron

By Bluheron

Wednesday with Sarah

When I visit, Sarah likes to wheelchair into her study which is filled with her favorite books and  handwritten journals. I mentioned the poet Jane Kenyon to her, and she directed me to a book of Kenyon’s poems nestled on one of the many shelves. We read some of her poems aloud, then Sarah pointed to a journal high upon a shelf. When I had retrieved it, she opened it and read of the trip we made to Montreal and Minneapolis many years ago…to feminists book fairs and an academic conference for women writers. Suddenly she said, “Look, there’s a rainbow!” We rushed to the front door to open it for a better view.  Sarah shouted, “I can’t believe I’m 86 and I’ve lived to see this beautiful rainbow!” Altogether a lovely afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.