Green Woodpecker - 90

Whenever I go down to Burton the green woodpecker is always on the list of sighted birds but I had never seen one there until today. One of the reasons is that the favoured location is at the far end of the reserve which I don't get the chance to visit when I am volunteering. However, today, it was on the grass directly outside the main visitor's centre which meant there was a great view and it went back and forth several times. 

Typically, I had left my camera in the car because the light is not very good in the afternoon at this time of year but I had time to retrieve the camera and get a couple fo quick shots before it left for the day. It is the first green woodpecker I have seen this year and I have never had such a good view of one before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.