NigelHarvey

By NigelHarvey

Thistle Chapel

I went out initially to take some pictures of Edinburgh's closes - the alleys that lead between buildings up to the High Street. But as usual none of the shots I had in mind worked out and I drifted into St Giles Cathedral. I was surprised at the numbers of people about - it's too cold for tourists, and it's only April - but then I remembered it's Easter. I always find it a little depressing when the tourist season starts, I get used to having the streets and town just a living, working place. I suppose it's humbug really - I love the place and never tire of looking at it, so why shouldn't a few thousand tourists do the same? Just not all at once!! Anyway - I was in St Giles, just mooching, and remembered the Thistle Chapel at the back. This is a tiny chapel up one corner of the main church, and it's easy to miss. It's full of fantastic carving and has seats for 16 knights of the Order of the Thistle, and 3 seats for royalty, including the monarch. As well as towering hoods above each seat with heraldic symbols, each seat has a different animal carved on the armrest. Because it's in Edinburgh and buried within St Giles it's easy to think it must be ancient, but in fact it was built and finished in 1911. And only a few tourists in there today, so easy to get a few shots in.

LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.