Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Reminders of War

Pill Boxes like this, built during the 2nd world war, are dotted along the North Downs way. The trees have grown up around them in time and it's hard to imagine the uninterrupted views they would have had across the Weald, towards the south coast. They were armed by British and Canadian troops, defending against German planes on route to unload their bombs over London.

Today many are bricked up, now valuable homes for bats and other small creatures that seek shelter. Others are open but they are unsavoury places filled with litter and where people do despicable things. Not places to send children in to investigate. They are a stark reminder that war was very much part of this rural countryside.

Another brilliant day, but cold enough to freeze the balls off of a brass monkey. As I walked the dogs, the wind penetrated my double layer of coats. I still can't regain heat a couple of hours later, so am off to sit by the fireside until I go to work.

I'm not doing well on commenting! I do see your journals in the evening when W. goes to bed, but I can't be seen to spend my night typing. My hopes for blip time at Easter were dashed by good company. C'est la vie at the moment. Thank you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.