Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

On the move....

Travelling again this afternoon for a meeting tomorrow in Salima along the lakeshore south of Mzuzu.  The road from Mzuzu to Nkhatabay is tar but as you can see is quite narrow and very hilly in places.  As I was driving I was thinking what can I blip today knowing that I would be driving until after dark!  Then this scene appeared and I just took the picture.

I mentioned in an earlier blip about the bicycle taxi's - well if you are travelling further especially in the rural areas the way to go is by Matola, which is what you see in todays blip.

Not much safer than the bicycle taxi's as you can see people and in this case tomatoes are all piled in, and you can even see another one in front of this one!

I reached my destination around 7.30pm and was very relieved to have found it.  By the time I reached Salima it was dark and bear in mind there are no street lights here and very few electric lights.  I was travelling to a lodge somewhere in Salima - no idea where and I seemed to drive for miles over the sand before I came to it.    I almost hit a wee boy on a very big bicycle along the way and in trying to avoid him almost hit 3 other wee boys on the side of the road, had to stop for a few minutes to recover!

Anyway here safe and sound, and delighted there is internet so that I can blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.