EB

Rather late in the day I realised I'd not taken any photos today.    I have to confess that when I picked up these lovely pink Alstroemeria in the supermarket the other day, marked '75% Off' I did think they'd make a blip on a quiet day.   I also thought this pink shade was especially nice and that alstroemeria last exceptionally well as cut flowers so they'd brighten my table for a week or two even if they were 'past their sell by date!

A grey, wet day.   A quiet one.  I popped into the pharmacy this morning having heard that they had some booster vaccine doses.   Too late.  No surprise.  Just over six months from my last jab and I've no idea when I'll get a booster.  Our health board tells us we'll get a letter inviting us when it's time and not to ring up until then.    In a rural community the places that can store and deliver Pfizer are widely spread, the local pharmacy only getting a small number of doses.   

I've been pretty sanguine about the virus thus far.   We live in a relatively small community that looks out for it's members and has a cautious outlook.   Mask wearing almost universal.   I have faith in the science so also the vaccines but the scientific understanding around Omicron at present has me a little twitchy.   I'm going to be more careful.   So it was ironic that today I learned that I had my first confirmed contact with the virus this week.  Ruth's support worker, whom I met briefly when I took her back on Tuesday, has a PCR confirmed positive case of Covid.   A few minutes in the same room together mostly at a safe distance makes it a smaller risk but I've ordered a PCR test to back up the negative lateral flow test I have already taken. I'll test daily until the result of that is confirmed.

In other news I had a long chat with my sister this afternoon.   Sadly we need to coordinate some action to help my Mum an issue in her home in London.   Mum's fine but the 'issue' is not.   Gentle diplomacy required but it needs to be known that the gloves will come off if diplomacy fails.   Families eh?!

On a happier note, Katie came to tea at mine.  We shared the rest of yesterdays home-made pizza and a fresh baked sponge pudding.   I also made some shortbread using a recipe that Katie has tried.   Verrrry Yummy :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.