randomgirl

By randomgirl

Frost flower

I forget the other names that people give to this interesting phenomenon. Frost flower is the name that has stuck in my brain since I first looked it up a few years ago. Back then I'd never seen or heard of it before! It's really beautiful and so delicate. Now I'm familiar with it I notice examples of it at least once or twice each winter. 

In the extra you can see some sad storm damage (from Storm Arwen I presume) that I came across on this day. One of the beautiful Beech trees in front of Reelig House. Looks like the wind just snapped it off. I was surprised to see it, as apart from this poor tree, (it had buds on, so wasn't dead already) I hadn't noticed any significant damage around our area. I actually showed the tree (as it was), in a similar view that I blipped as an extra on 11th November. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.