The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Song Thrush Posing For Me

Wall to wall blue skies today, so I decided to take advantage of it and pop back down to Forest Farm this afternoon. I hoped to have another go at getting a Kingfisher shot having found one of his perches during Sunday's visit. I was out of luck, and didn't actually see the Kingfisher until I was leaving to go home. Never mind eh ..

I did get some nice bird watching time though. There seems to be a very tame young heron there who fishes near the tow path. It is not bothered by the joggers, dog walkers, cyclists and occasional photographer that goes past.

I made the schoolboy error of forgetting to take some bird food down with me today, so I only got a few photos of the woodland birds, they did keep me company during my 45 minute vigil for the Kingfisher.

There were a few more Chiffchaff around than Sunday, so our summer migrants are slowly appearing.

I spent the last hour sat in the hide watching a Heron fish, a couple of Snipe grubbing around, and a Buzzard feeding on a frog he had caught.

Not a bad afternoon all told.

I have upped some photos from today and from Sunday on to my flickr site. It was a tough choice picking what to use for this blip, but this Song Thrush was a proper show off. It was grubbing around in the leaf litter until I pointed the camera at it. It then promptly jumped on to this log, found a suitable shaft of sunlight, and pulled a couple of poses for me ... bloody camera tart! ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.