wingpig

By wingpig

spoon

It was a morning like many others. I rose early, read a bit of book, read a bit of internet, showered, dried, had some breakfast, had some more breakfast, read some more internet. popped to the shop, made a flasksworth of coffee, packed some food and trundled off to work without a backward glance. I very nearly stopped on the way to take a picture of the little puddle of blood on Lauriston Place (possibly from the same source as the few drips on Hardwell Close I noticed earlier) but was a little late so didn't bother even though it's been a while since such a feature has been seen there now that the infirmary has moved. I didn't get a chance to go for much of a wander at lunchtime so left my camera in the office when I went to buy some food. In light of the nonwandering and recent heavy eating I went for the 5½ mile Brunstfield-Morningside-Blackford-Cameron Toll-Dalkeith Road route home featuring the en-route diversions of the windows of the camera shop (still tempting despite their dodgy 2h macro lenses), quiet tree-filled backstreets, aquatic bird-things and woodland besides the hill, interesting uni buildings on West Mains Road, bagels and speciality meat products with which sandwiches for lunchtimes can be made at Cameron Toll and a nice big graveyard which catches the evening sun really nicely of which pictures could be made. Got to Braid Avenue, trotted a little way up it to get a picture through the tunnel of hedge and cherry trees and noticed that I hadn't put my camera battery back in after recharging it last night.

First time I've done it in three months of camera-with proprietary-battery ownership but still very annoying. If only I'd decided to try and take that picture on the way to work I could have popped back at lunchtime for the battery etc etc blah.

The cause can be traced back to the pop-to-shop this morning, an unusual event (I usually go in the evening if we're lacking breakfast-foods such as muffins or muffins) but a necessary one as we were down to the last couple of mm of bogroll; I was sitting at the computer about to switch lenses and reconfigure my bag after the holiday when I remembered and just picked it all up as it was when I left again. Luckily I had notquiteascrappyasbeforephonecam with me to get one of the little light-puddles reflected onto the wall of Newington Cemetery by the buildings opposite but it's strange not taking pictures of things because you're annoyed at yourself rather than just because you've chosen not to. My hard drive, shutter and Flickr upload-backlog aren't complaining though.

It won't happen again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.