Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Two blips in one day, since I got busy during yesterday evening.
Mum called Saturday and wanted me to fix a Birthday card for a 50 year old. He's my cousins son, same age as me, on my mothers side, and he and his family were among relatives gifting me the telescope. Naturally I wanted to fix a nice card. Mum thought I had ready made cards at home... nooo. Those where I've made photos before as Birthday cards, have been fixed and ordered then and there. So... yesterday I went looking for materials to use. I knew I had some 'fancy' silver paper, looking like a loosely weaved fabric. But where? Late last night I found it, where I thought it be stored away. I cut out a bottle from blue paper, backed it with sturdier white paper. At first the white paper was more visible, but I changed my mind. This morning I found the silver foil paper and placed the silver net on top of it, after cutting away some details. Then I found other bits and pieces that fitted my design idea. After I made the front, I took this photo and sent to mum for approval. And since then I've made the card even sturdier by making another blue bottle shape and glued it to the back. Now almost nothing white is showing. I tried to cover the visible white with distress oxide, but there're some smaller areas of white still, where the sponge didn't reach. I will send it tomorrow, hoping it'll reach its destination before this Saturday, and be hung on a bottle of champagne. 
At least the advent calendar I sent to my (other) cousin in Germany finally arrived! It took 3 weeks... and the adress was correct, so I blame the post services, and sigh of relief. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.