TrickyD

By TrickyD

Thinking of Dad

It's a year today since my lovely Dad, Dave Draycott, passed away.
The year has gone so quickly - maybe because the first three months were abit of a daze as I got my head around what had happened.

So, today to mark the day I headed off on my own to have a day to myself, taking pictures and thinking about good times I'd spent with Dad. I drove up past Loch Lomond and spent the day around the Rest and Be Thankful, I even walked up Ben Donich.

This picture of of Loch Restil, which I took shortly before heading home.
I also penned a few lines for my Dad while I was out.

You have been in heaven a year Dad,
I hope that you've settled in,
I hope that you've found a new favourite chair,
and have a well-stocked sweetie tin.
I hope that you've found a new local,
To serve you a few pints of mixed,
And I hope the legs that once caused you pain,
Up there, have now all been fixed.
I hope that you've found a new telly,
So you can watch your Challenge and Gold,
And I hope you have some new slippers,
So that your toes can never grow cold.
I hope that you are sitting with Uncle Les,
So you can both talk and laugh and chat,
I'm sure that there'll be little silence,
As you were both always so good at that.
I hope that you've got a new wireless,
So that you can sing along with a melody,
And I hope you have a new flask close at hand,
For when you need that tenth cuppa tea.
You have been in heaven a year Dad,
It's hard to know you're no longer there,
But as long as I have breath in my body,
You'll always be at home in your chair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.