randomgirl

By randomgirl

View through the graveyard of the Old High Church

I took this from the top of the steps that lead up to the church's graveyard. I just happened to notice there was an interesting light there as I walked past on the street below.

I never seem to have time for a proper visit to this interesting old church (18th century, with the base of the tower dating from the 14th century) and graveyard when I'm walking by. One day I must go and have a proper look around! A bit of information on it here: https://www.britainexpress.com/scotland/Highlands/churches/old-high-church-inverness.htm

In the photo you can see right through to buildings on the opposite side of the river, and beyond to Tomnahurich (the wooded hill). You can also just see the top of the 'Wobbly Bridge' (as it's called here) - a pedestrian bridge over the river. Incidentally, the church building you see on the far left is actually the Free Church. The Old High Church is out of view on the right hand side of the graveyard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.