Comfort and Hope

A couple of weeks ago I noticed a Monarch butterfly chrysalis attached to an amaryllis leaf in our backyard. I didn't even bother to take a photo of it since I thought that this late in the year it probably wasn't viable. Well...this beauty emerged this morning from that very same chrysalis! It was still pumping up it's wings when I took this shot. We still have flowers for it to visit but I doubt if it will be ovipositing, laying eggs. But hey! Strange things are happening in Nature as our climate changes. Considering all of the horrific news lately, seeing this Monarch might just be a good omen. Native American tribes generally see them as representing change and transformation, comfort, hope and positivity, a joyous or hopeful sign.
Reading that, my thoughts go to my longtime BlipFriend dfb24, whose wonderfully kind and loving husband just passed. I hold their entire family in my heart. And of course, all of those affected by the Mayfield Tornado, a killer storm whose survivors, many of whom lost everything, are in desperate need of assistance! This natural disaster spanned 8 states! Please donate to the American Red Cross, United Way of Kentucky or my personal go-to...World Central Kitchen! USA TODAY has published a list of nonprofits/Relief Funds. https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/local/2021/12/11/how-help-mayfield-kentucky-communities-affected-tornadoes-fundraisers-donations/6477051001/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.