Cake decorating

H and I have been decorating our Christmas cakes.  We spent a lovely morning rolling, cutting and drying small and large holly leaves and poinsettia flowers.  Rolling the holly berries by hand was the hardest bit.  Whilst everything was drying we had lunch and then set about making 46 mince pies.  After that we put a small poinsettia flower into a bigger one and popped 3 tiny green berries into the  middle - way too fiddly for me with only one good eye working at the moment - so H kindly helped with the gluing and sticking in place etc.  My finished cake in extra.  H is a master baker and sugarcraft queen whereas I would normally opt for a bit of a rough royal icing snow scene!!  Nevertheless I admire her work and it's nice to try something different.  

I hoped to go and see my friend B in his respite care home tomorrow but the new Covid rules are now only admitting the same 3 named people to visit, so I have missed the boat which I'm really sad about as I haven't  seen him for over 6 weeks now and it's not looking hopeful that he will be able to come home for Christmas.

Tiny holly leaves and berries for TinyTuesday.  Thanks to Carol_dunham for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.