Sitting amidst shells

By the end of the working day, I was feeling tired. Knowing that a jog boosts my energy I set off. Very quickly, realised that a lack of sleep had caught up with me, and instead of the planned long jog, I walked around Highfield reserve. 

Then found that somehow I'd set the camera to black and white. It took me a while to get it back to colour. In the meantime the three young Piwakawaka had found more interesting things to do than fly around near a man carrying a camera. 

Heard Tui and went searching. Kept hearing them and seeing them flash past, usually as a pair. A few glimpses very high. Then there was one rather slower, which stopped nearby. Realised it was actually a Kaka. Tiredness gave me ten thumbs, and one out of focus photo. My frsutration eased by the return of one little Piwakawaka, and an extra for today.

We had decided on Take-aways for tonight and after ordering I had a short walk at North end where I saw a wee NZ Dotterel which seemed to realise that I was no threat, just flopped down on the shells, and posed while I got some pictures, the best being today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.