Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Ready, steady, go!

Mum in law left this morning after having a hairdo in the salon across the road first thing. I made a start on getting things done, while Colin drove her north. I began with the room mum had been using and got the bed stripped and the bedding washed ready to move the bed back upstairs.
Next to feel the weight of my need to 'get things done' was the pile of unwritten Christmas cards. They are no more, as they say. All written and even posted by Colin, once he got back.
Next I decided to make the cranberry Sauce, I've had the berries a couple of weeks now since just before mum arrived after storm Arwen. Two jars made and very tasty, if I do say so myself. Like, blipper Munroist4113, I too used the festive bottle of port. In my defence there wasn't even a glassful left, so Colin gets to buy a new bottle and can blame me! I think I might make another batch, we like to have it during the year both with roast chicken and also in sandwiches with brie. The sharp eyed amongst you will have spotted the clue to the fact that we ran out last year!
After Colin got back we relaxed with a cup of tea and enjoyed having the house to ourselves once again.
I cleared a shelf in the bookcase in the hall ready for our nativity scene. I've still got to do the preparation for the Christmas tree.
We shared a chicken biryani from next door for dinner and then watched the first episode of The Outlaws which had been recommended by Ali. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Watching iplayer via the Amazon fire stick is so much easier than watching it on Virgin which seems rather strange.
My calf is still uncomfortable, so I didn't put it to any tests today apart from standing in the kitchen for an extended period. Thank you for the sympathy yesterday.
Stay safe folks, I don't feel at all comfortable about where we are at the moment.
Lateral flow today was negative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.