If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Kendal parish Church.

Clickychick was still looking for various things so we decided to visit Kendal.  It isn't a town we visit very often although it isn't a lot further than Carlisle.  When we arrived I quickly realised why we don't!  The road system!   I hesitate to call it a system as I see nothing systematic about it, that coupled with confusing signs trying to tell you where to park.  Nightmare!

Eventually having got parked and enjoyed wandering round the really rather nic characterful town.  It is just a pity the roads and parking put you off.  A glorious Steak and Ale pie in the Fleece Inn gave us fuel to carry on.

We couldn't leave Kendal without visiting the river and on the way back we passed the church.  Holy Trinity claims to be one of the widest parish churches in the country.  I have never noticed before but the tower seems to be "not quite right.  Going by my pic the left side is vertical but the right, not quite vertical.  The ridge above the door to the right is horizontal but the one near the top of the tower, not quite horizontal.  Most odd unless it is my eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.