Catkins

When we went for a walk today it felt that the world was in hibernation, almost no light, not a breath of wind, no birdsong, no traffic noise, such silence is rare.

The catkins have been on the hazel for a couple of months and I noticed this morning that the primroses in the lawn are growing strongly.  I hope this mild weather isn't fooling them too much.

I read today that "Station Eleven" has been turned into a 10 episode series that has just been launched on HBO Max.  I don't watch TV so I won't be watching it.  But I read the novel (by Emily St John Mandel) when it came out in 2014.  In the novel (long before Covid) a deadly swine flu killed 99% of the human population.  The story was about the collapse of "civilisation" and its eventual rebuilding.  It was a gripping read, and by the end, extremely up-lifting.  I would heartily recommend it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.