JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 350: Threads

I don't remember how old I was when my dad made an undistinguished but immensely practical shallow, lidded box, sized to accommodate a lot of my mum's old-style cotton reels, but I do remember him making it. I took charge of arranging all the coloured threads in it, exactly the kind of task I loved. She sewed a lot of clothes for us when we were children, and went on sewing for me till well after I left home, as well as teaching and encouraging me to make first clothes for my dolls and then simple items for myself; by my mid-teens I was sewing quite a lot of my clothes. Sadly, I've not fitted in much dressmaking in the second half of my life - a full-time teaching job and a severely disabled child didn't leave much space in my days - but I do still make occasional things and mend rather more. I suspect my mum's box of threads, along with the smaller overflow box and the large reels in a carrier bag, will more than meet my needs for as long as I live. 

I photographed the cotton reels today for Abstract Thursday's pattern theme. Thank you Ingeborg for hosting this, as always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.