Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Nature Walk

I had intended to head over to the the National Trust property at Uppark for a look at the Christmas decorations in the house, but was late getting going, the weather was indifferent and the news on the radio full of Omicron warnings - very depressing.  However, I still needed some lunch and fresh air, so headed to the closer property at Hatchlands.

They too had Christmas decorations on show; the first year for this property which is still a family home and also houses the The Cobbe Collection  (so no photos). This includes a collection of 50-odd keyboard instruments, all of which are still playable and played, and include pianos owned by Handel, Elgar, Mahler, J S Bach and other famous composers, 12 in all.  The Music Room also holds a grade 1 rated organ which I have heard play on a previous visit. Unfortunatley only recorded music was to be heard today.

My walk took me round the wider estate on a track I hadn't taken before mainly through wooded areas.  With the mild weather recently, there were still signs of late Autumn and ready set-up still-life studies for me to enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.