WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Sunrise at Hellifield Station

Clockwise from the biggest.
The journey to Carlisle as beautiful as ever, past frosty fields through the Dales and up over the moors. I never tire of this landscape.
One person on board without a mask :-/
However when I arrived in Carlisle the tannoy said my connection - coming from Euston - would be an hour late due to trespassers on the line - idiots!
I was told I could get a different train which would make me only 30mins late.
I bought a vegan cappuccino and a paper and waited. The train came just as I finished my coffee.
On the train a large group of young guys walked the length of my carriage with no masks and shouting to each other as they passed. Regular reminders over the loudspeaker telling passengers that mask wearing over nose and mouth is mandatory!
Then the old guy pushing the tea trolley comes past with a mask loosely over just his mouth. I despair! Selfish people :-(

I’m still reading the Geraldine Brooks’ book Year of Wonders - about the plague in Eyam. It shows how even then in 1666 they knew how to protect themselves and others. I love this book!

I’m looking forward spending the afternoon with Marc (outdoors with masks!) and excited to be going to Sabrina’s and having fun with the girls!
Lucy’s dance class party/show that should have been tomorrow  has been cancelled- inevitably.
At present the ice skating Christmas gala is going ahead on Tuesday but split into separate groups to reduce numbers in the ice rink at each one.

I may update later when I am at Sabrina’s.

Hope you are having a good day.
Stay safe ;-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.