Nucular Testing ...

A day at the Nuclear Medicine Dept, St Richards, Chichester, which I like to refer to as going for my Nucular Test - George Dubbya amused me so much. Hi sfinger on the button and he couldn't even get the name right!

They inject a tiny isotope and measure its progress at hourly intervals, via blood tests, to assess the efficiency of my kidneys in order to calculate the right dose of chemotherapy for me next week. It's reassuring that everything is tailored specifically for me. They assure me it contains less radiation than a normal X-ray, and the isotope is short lived, so timing is of the essence. It has been brought over from Guildford specially for me. All a bit mind blowing, having only got 'O' Level biology and no physics or chemistry whatsoever. Lit up like a fused set of Christmas lights, I wandered round the hospital between tests at 9a.m, 11, 12 and 1pm. Tedious but worth it to know my kidneys will not be overwhelmed.

I apologise whole heartedly if this journal entry offends or upsets anyone. It seems to me, though, that cancer is still in the dark and while it is, it will scare the bejesus out of people. It IS scary, no doubt about it, but much more is heaped on by myth and fear and uncertainty. So Blip seems a good light to shine on it. We all seem to know and/or care for someone who suffers it, pretty important then that we deal with it as well as we can. My motto is, Life as usual, as far as possible, unless reeling with sickness or weakness. But that doesn't mean hiding the facts away.

This is a series of wall hangings in St Richard's Hospital, which I have mentioned before is the home of many pieces of local art. It is inspired by, among other things, the Roman mosaics at Fishbourne, Bosham of previous Blip fame, and the Trundle, an iron age hill fort next to the Goodwood horse racing track.

The pieces were made in 2001 by graduates Gemma Suggit and Rachel Reynolds from University College, Chichester. Their common interests are respect for - and the beauty and history of - place. It uses felt-making, embroidery and dyeing materials such as silk, muslin, scrim and calico. It has unfortunately been hanging in the sunshine (??!!) and is looking a bit worse for wear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.