Lancewood

A young adult lancewood tree growing outside the AA Centre where my renewed drivers licence was issued- at last. My son took me to Christchurch, where we spent hours waiting, at the hair dresser (my first haircut in about 9 months!), then the medical centre for the medical exam, at the AA, and at various charging stations for the EV car. It was a long day, but I have my licence for another two years. All I need now is a car.

Lancewoods are a popular city tree because their various stages complement architectural shapes. This one might be about 15 years old. As it continues to grow the branches will spread wider and the leaves will become shorter. As a juvenile it was a spindly stick hung with long (up to a metre) leathery and notched leaves. It is endemic to New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.