Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Finley

A difficult day.

I haven't spoken about it here as yet as we kept hoping for a miracle. 

We are surrendering darling Finley back to the rescue and today I learned I'll be delivering him to their preferred kennels on Monday.

This has been a long process and there've been lots of conversations and lots of tears. He's so bright and his other training was going well.

He can't be re-homed straight away as the reason we are reluctantly giving him up as he has bitten a few people (us included).

With the stepchildren coming for Christmas Day and the fact that he's done it out of the home (he got my Dad twice when the grandchildren were there) left us with an impossible choice. 

The postman kindly didn't report him (we now have letter cage inside, external letterbox and a note asking people not to ring the doorbell), nor did my electrician, but, someone will and I don't want any decision of further action taking out of my hands. 

The vet was already of a PTS opinion when I admitted I had about 50 bites and bruises - most of them are attention-seeking nips but still bloody painful when he draws blood! We don't even feel he's aggressive (unless you try and take away his bone or your stolen sock!) just easily frustrated and VERY territorial.

He escapes confinement - can jump the baby gate and work door handles now so keeping him in another room doesn't work.

Another option was medication to keep him calm and subdued - not an option long term on such a young dog, he deserves a quiet outdoorsy home with space to safely run and possibly other dogs to play with and teach him manners.

I knew he'd bitten the resident dog in his foster home but none of us had been aware of a bite history in his first home. The adopter didn't tell the charity, just that she'd lost her job. I only found out when I reached out to her to find out which trainer she'd used and she said "yeah, we had biting issues, he bit my dad!"

We're all heartbroken and feeling guilty for letting our boy down, but he deserves the best home for him, and sadly, it doesn't seem to be here. 

Devastated. We love him so much already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.