Talyllyn

No one really knows why the railway was named after the lake, several miles up the valley from Abergynolwyn.   Perhaps, then as now, it was considered one of the premier local beauty spots?    Easy today to see why.

I had already driven round the lake twice before this pic was taken.   My morning outing to Dolgellau for my booster, where the set up was as efficient as always and I was in and out in under ten minutes.  

Jamie and I are now near Southampton after a short stop at Ruth’s in Birmingham to drop off and collect stuff.  I have a quiet weekend ahead while Jamie is with Clara.

edit: a gap in my knowledge updated by a friend:  As I understood it was because the Bryn Eglwys quarry and village of Abergynolwyn was in the Parish of Tal-y-llyn. Abergynolwyn didn't have its own church and parish until St David's was built in 1879-1880, some fifteen years after the Talyllyn Railway arrived in the village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.