The Traveling Creche

I built this creche, with a little help from a friend, over 35 years ago.  I had it several years and then when my grandnieces were born, I loaned it to the family while they were young.  Then it traveled back to me and to Maine.  When my neighbors moved in across the street, I gave it to them for their little girl.  One of my favorite memories growing up is arranging and rearranging the nativity scene my Auntie had given our family.  I did it nearly every day.  It has traveled a long way over the years, but I am so happy that tiny hands are now rearranging the figures again.  Afterall, the story of the nativity is why we celebrate Christmas in the first place, and we can thank St. Francis for beginning the tradition in 1223 at Greccio, central Italy of the Christmas creche. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.