Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Japanese Maple

Before I left for the Galápagos this tree was just showing signs of turning red - rather late, actually, given that all the other trees had lost their leaves already. I was sad that I'd probably miss its brilliance, but when I got home it was still hanging on to all its leaves, and they were a really nice bright red! And now, almost a month since I got home, it still has a lot of its leaves and it still goes "bam!" when I walk outside and it catches my eye. Every year it's a bit different. Earlier/later. Redder/not so red. Some years it's absolutely breathtaking. I think I did miss the peak this year, but I'm grateful that it's still giving me a pop of red every day - in the middle of December!

Underneath the tree is a stone Buddha that The Husband started creating when he was... a teenager? Dunno - a long time ago in any case. Never finished, but still a Buddha.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.