OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Glossy Ibises

A woman on Westray spotted some glossy ibises on Wednesday (I think) but work meant I couldn't get there till today. I cycled from the pier up to the field by the only village on the island, Pierowall, where they'd been seen, but no sign. I cycled about the surrounding roads looking for them when an old lady walking her dog stopped me and said..'those strange birds are back...along by the sandy road'. I cycled on and got 7 by the road. Later, after coffee and really scrumptious cake at the Groatie Buckies Cafe I went back up and the original 7 were joined by another 3! I'd only ever seen 2 before. These birds should be in Africa for the winter after summer in Greece or Italy or the French Med coast, so it is a mystery what they're doing here. Images could be better but poor light and distance didn't help. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.