JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 352: Dank

It's not especially cold, but it's been foggy all day, damp, gloomy and grey. It's been a dreary week, and I've not taken many photos outside, but I always rather like the way shadowy trees and hedgerows form soft layers through mist. Today the downs and the valley were completely obscured, I couldn't even see to the bottom of the orchard, and it didn't lift all day. The last few leaves are still hanging onto the little silver birch, and across the field our neighbours' barn was visible beside the hedge, but little more. I tried editing this, and made it prettier with a bit more saturation and contrast, then undid almost everything I'd done because this grey, fuzzy image is what it was like. 

J joined the Accessible Film Club on Zoom this afternoon. The group returned to the usual monthly cinema screenings in the summer, after over a year of meeting online, and because we have continued to avoid indoor spaces, she's not been attending; she is hoping they may now have a few more online meet-ups, for a while at least. Today they watched Nativity 2, which stars David Tennant and J finds very funny, but which the teacher in me finds a bit too irritatingly silly. Fortunately I didn't have to watch it with her, I just supported her with the pre- and post-film discussions, where she needs me to sign. Instead, I polished my French translation of the subtitles for her animation, which are needed for the Paris festival next month. It's just a short poem, but the language was not entirely easy to translate and I enjoyed trying different words and sentence structures to try to convey both the meaning and something of the rhythm of her voice-over. It's a long time since I did anything like this, and I have always enjoyed translation. Tomorrow I will send my parallel text to a French friend for proof-reading and any comments or suggestions before a final version is added to the film. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.