Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Sunset at Bar Beach

It has been another stinker today.   I think it got to around 35C (but it felt hotter) and aside from some mad dog gardening while it was around 30C I spent most of the day inside in the air conditioning. 

A storm blew in this evening.  Apparently there was a wild storm in Northern Sydney this afternoon blowing roofs off and felling trees and a poor woman was killed.

This view over bar beach was just as the storm was blowing out to sea on sunset.  For a brief moment the skies lit up.  It was interesting to see pubs and restaurants have barely anyone in them and the roads are pretty quiet.   No doubt because of the Covid outbreak here.  Our numbers were slightly down from yesterday but we have never before had such high numbers.  Just as the government restrictions have all eased and it has been pushed back on individuals to take whatever precautions they see fit.   I see our hospitals filling up in about two weeks.  I do hope the Omicron is not as deadly as the Delta or we are in real trouble.  I have decided to get tested before I head back to Sydney for Christmas.  The last thing I want is to give my family Covid.  I will see if I can get some rapid antigen testers but I have heard they are hard to get now.

I hope you have had a good weekend.   I will get around to backblipping from last week in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.