Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Lussekatter (Lucia Cats)

I made these tonight. I love to bake but I don’t dare do it very often as it’s just me at home! I try to share so I don’t eat everything myself! I also rarely bake a yeast bread - but I was feeling adventurous. So I tried these - Swedish saffron buns, called Lussekatter, or Lucia Cats, when they are formed into this shape and eaten on Lucia Day which is on the 13th. The shape is supposed to be like a cat curled up asleep. This was my first attempt! (The next batch look better!)

I enjoyed the project but it was very labour intensive! I will be eating these on Lucia Day (and beyond!). I baked half the dough tonight and have chilled the rest to do tomorrow.

More information about Lussekatter here - along with the recipe I used.

(I’ve back-blipped, so you can already scroll forward to see my Lucia Day celebration, along with my ‘Stjärngossar’ - Star Boys. You’ll have to read that blip for an explanation.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.