Cantering to catch up

My colleagues in the inpatient unit were much quieter during the morning meeting about new admissions, and discharges; the Flow meeting by name, if not by function. Perhaps taken by surprise when I adopted a much more controlling role, summarising my understanding of the newly admitted patients., and asking each colleague to take responsibility for one of them. We got through the meeting more quickly than usual and with a more clear plan for the day. Later in the day I had a couple of phone calls to check with me what I had suggested and which they were about to implement.

After finishing the day of work, we packed a few things and returned to Snells Beach. A pleasant drive on a sunny afternoon. Early enough back here to take a jog on the exposed mudflats. The extra photo is of two Taranui (Caspian Tern); an adult and a juvenile. I had the chance to watch their response to me three times. Each time the first sound was made by the youngster; a high pitched whistle demanding to be fed. On the first and third occasion, the adult gave a very raucous rasping call and then flew away immediately followed by the youngster. On the second occasion the adult left without sounding the alarm and the youngster appeared uncertain, eventually following. A fascinating lesson for me in bird behaviour.

As I turned to return back on firm sand, I saw three horses, also on the sand. The smallest rider on her pony first cantered back the was they had come and then turned and came back at a fast canter. I could see the absolute delight on her face as she caught up to her mother and sibling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.